Christmas 2006

Merry Christmas 2006,
I hope the season finds you happy, healthy and wise. Personally, I’ve achieved the first two and given up on the last one years ago. But I’m a cop and I get paid from the neck down so the third one isn’t that important to me.
The year started out busy. In January we went down to Florida with our kids, grandkids and son-in-law. We flew from Minneapolis to Chicago and Chicago to Orlando. Vickie enjoys flying. I prefer transportation where there is no possibility that the seat cushions will ever have to be used as flotation devices.
In Florida we went to all the theme parks: Magic Kingdom, Animal Kingdom, Epcot Center, Sea World and Exhausted Grandparents Land, which is what I started calling our condominium. We also went to Coco Beach, The Kennedy Space Center and deep sea fishing. It has always been a dream of mine to fish in the ocean. The swells were supposed to be two to four feet high, but they ended up being closer to six to eight feet high. Most of us got seasick and threw up in the ocean–that’s part of the dream I don’t remember.
The grandkids were well-behaved most of the time. There were a few times when we had a long day and everyone was tired and hungry. Suddenly we would have a complete meltdown that turned into a full-blown temper tantrum with screaming and crying and a total loss of reason and rationality. It was at times like these when Vickie would lean over and whisper, “You’re scaring the grandkids.” And that would usually put an end to it.
Sabrina turned sixteen this year and got her driver’s license. I’ve ridden with her a few times. It makes the whole fear-of-flying-in-an-airplane thing seem a little silly. Actually she does pretty well. She just has a little trouble backing up and going forward, but she’s a real pro at running the windshield wipers and radio.
Jeremy still has a job working with computers doing things I don’t even pretend to understand. He tries to explain them to me, but I’m convinced he’s just making things up and laughing at me when I turn my back.
Nicole works for a law firm that tries to set the kind of people free that I throw in jail. It’s sad what some people have to do to make a living. Too bad she can’t find a respectable job, but I guess it pays the bills.
Until next year, be good and stay out of trouble, and if you get in trouble, call Nicole and she’ll probably get you out.
Merry Christmas

About thewritingdeputy

Joel Jurrens was a deputy sheriff for 26 years until he retired in 2013. He has published three novels: In The Sticks, Graves of His Personal Liking and County Ops: The Vengeance of Gable Fitzgerald. He tries to keep his blog light and humorous and sometimes downright silly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas 2006

  1. Marja McGraw says:

    Thanks for brightening my day! You have a terrific sense of humor and a gift for putting it on paper.

Leave a Reply

