Start of Alaska Adventure–June 4th

(This is my journal of our trip to Alaska)
Alaska Trip– June 4th

We flew out of Minneapolis headed for Seattle on time. I have never cared for flying. I’m not a white-knuckle flier, but I prefer to travel in modes of transportation where if the engine stops you coast slowly to a stop, not go screaming to the ground in a ball of fire. When we got close to Seattle, we ran into a group of thunderstorms that stirred up a lot of turbulence. If that wasn’t enough Vickie broke the airplane. Fortunately I got it fixed before we landed. I sat next to a woman on the plane who ate like a machine the entire trip. When she wasn’t eating she was trying to cough up a lung. I hope I don’t catch something.
I had gotten up at 5 AM that morning and by the time we left Seattle it was 1:30 AM our time. They said there would be a lot of turbulence between Seattle and Fairbanks. I remember taking off in Seattle and landing in Fairbanks–funny how fatigue can cure the fear of flying. It was 2 AM local time when we landed in Fairbanks. It seemed like sunrise in Iowa. We were told that it never gets much darker that this in the summer in Alaska. We slogged to our hotel and went to sleep. Tomorrow we start our Alaska adventure.

About thewritingdeputy

Joel Jurrens was a deputy sheriff for 26 years until he retired in 2013. He has published three novels: In The Sticks, Graves of His Personal Liking and County Ops: The Vengeance of Gable Fitzgerald. He tries to keep his blog light and humorous and sometimes downright silly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Start of Alaska Adventure–June 4th

  1. Looking forward to following your trip to Alaska. I’m English but spent a few brief days in Seattle – 25 years ago. I’ve never forgotten it – possibly because I spent it with a boy called Jim as I remember! Hope sales go well for new book. Diana J Febry.

Leave a Reply

