MY WEBSITE(S)

          I have a website.  In fact, I have two websites and a blog, and I’m headed for a spin-off website on one of my websites, and I have the capability to put a blog up on each of my websites, which potentially means I could end up with four writing blogs, three novel websites, two Facebook pages and a partridge in a pear tree. 

          How did this happen to a guy who didn’t join Facebook until nine months ago?  Mark Zuckerberg and Bill Gates kidnapped me, locked me in a room and forced me to listen to Barry Manilow songs until I did what they wanted.  Just kidding.  I wish it were true.  At least then I would have an excuse.  It all started when I went to a website about book promotion.  They strongly suggested—they always strongly suggest—that you have a website if you have written a book.  So I got a website http://www.inthe sticks.net to promote my book In The Sticks.  They also suggested that I start a blog which you are reading now.  I then joined Facebook to promote the blog and website and because getting notified how people are doing at Farmville just never gets old. 

          When I got a publisher for my second book, Graves of His Personal Liking, I needed a website for it.  I decided I would combine both books into one website.  I went to Go Daddy hoping to see the half-dressed women they always have on their commercials.  Instead I got a website http.www.thewritingdeputy.com.  The website had a blog included.  I thought about doing two blogs, one of them political, because God knows the one thing we don’t have enough of on the internet is political blogs.  The problem is, I’m in the middle on most issues, and I believe politicians from both parties are slightly below belly button lint on my scale of important things.  I really don’t care which political party wins as long as the country wins.  So I kept the one blog and link it to the blogs on the other sites.

            I thought about shutting down the In The Sticks website, but I keep getting people coming to the site.  I have no idea how they find it.  I once put “in the sticks” into a search engine.  I went through the first twelve pages of results, and my site never came up, but I still keep getting hits.  The site has the option of adding another site.  When my second book is published I’m going to add a Graves of His Personal Liking to that site.  What the heck, maybe people will find it, too. 

            My biggest problem is what to put on the websites.  Posting on the blog is difficult enough, although I like to have to force myself to write something, I think it is good exercise making myself write something even if I don’t have anything specific to write about.  On my websites I have information about my book, reviews of the book, where someone could get the book and nude pictures of Madonna.   I’m joking about the pictures, after all who hasn’t seen nude pictures of Madonna?  I have started posting various excerpts from the book to try to whet people’s appetite for the book.  I don’t know it it’s working, but I’m still selling books and I keep getting those hits.

           

             

 

 

About thewritingdeputy

Joel Jurrens was a deputy sheriff for 26 years until he retired in 2013. He has published three novels: In The Sticks, Graves of His Personal Liking and County Ops: The Vengeance of Gable Fitzgerald. He tries to keep his blog light and humorous and sometimes downright silly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to MY WEBSITE(S)

  1. Shareen says:

    Since many of these publishers downsized their marketing departments, it’s usually up to the author to do all the marketing. It looks to me like you’re doing an incredible job.

  2. I don’t know how you keep up with it all, but it seems to be working for you. So keep on keeping on. I just got in the Sticks, and I am looking forward to reading it this weekend.

Leave a Reply

