IT AIN’T EASY

!cid_X_MA1_1315556019@aol

Writing a blog can be a pain sometimes. Awhile back I made a commitment to post something every week. Forcing myself to write when I really don’t want to, spurs my imagination. Often I imagine what it would be like not to have to write a blog post every week.

I am an undisciplined writer. I have read about writers who sit down every day and don’t get up until they’ve written for eight hours or produced seventeen pages. These people are like gods to me. I’d at least have to get up to pee–I drink a lot of coffee in the mornings.

My problem is I get distracted easily. When the writing isn’t going well, I’ll be looking up song lyrics up on the internet, or I’ll run upstairs to see if it has suddenly warmed up to one hundred twenty degrees and all the snow has melted. I know in Iowa in February it’s not likely, but if I don’t check I’ll never know. I read once that Steven King has rock music blaring in the background when he writes. I couldn’t do that, because eventually a Bob Dillon song would play, and I’d be looking up the lyrics on the internet. Let’s face it; nobody can understand the words when he’s singing.

When things are going well I have sat at the keyboard for twelve straight hours, and kept a coffee can under my desk for those pee emergencies. Just kidding–I wore Depends. Lately things have been going well on my third novel. I’ve gotten to one of the climatic moments in the book. I spent the last few days chasing a tall blonde through an abandoned grove, and then I had to get back to working on the book. Again, I’m kidding. It is just when things are going well, I hate to break away from the story to write something for the blog. I do it because I need the discipline. I’m lazy and I have to make myself do what I don’t want to do.

Last week I managed to con Tara Looft into writing a post for me. I appreciated it, and I think she enjoyed it. I’ll have her do it again sometime, but it doesn’t relieve me of my commitment to write a blog post a week. That is why I am putting up this post ahead of schedule. Now excuse me, I have a tall blonde to catch.

The Writing Deputy Site

In The Sticks Site

About thewritingdeputy

Joel Jurrens was a deputy sheriff for 26 years until he retired in 2013. He has published three novels: In The Sticks, Graves of His Personal Liking and County Ops: The Vengeance of Gable Fitzgerald. He tries to keep his blog light and humorous and sometimes downright silly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

