POTPOURRI FOR FIVE HUNDRED ALEX

 

                The beard is gone. Just thought I’d mention it to those who were wondering. I kept it for about a month and then shaved it off. It wasn’t an easy decision. I didn’t like it, but the words the little girl said to President Lincoln kept running through my head.  “The more of your face you have covered the better off you’ll be.” Or something like that. It only took my wife two days to notice I had shaved, so I guess the effect was not that stunning.

                I’ve had a literary agent request the full manuscript for my third novel. She said to give her at least forty-five days before sending her a reminder.  That was sixty days ago. I’m hesitant to contact her again. I had a publisher request the full manuscript of my first novel. When I didn’t hear back from them, I sent an email asking if they had read the manuscript. Within fifteen minutes I got a response that it wasn’t right for them. By what they said I am sure they never read more than the first chapter. With my second novel an agent asked for the full manuscript again, no response for a long time. When I sent an email asking if he’d had a chance to read it, within an hour I got a return email saying he didn’t think any of the publishers he dealt with would be interested. He didn’t make any comments about the book, so I’m positive he didn’t read it. I’m going to let this one stew for quite awhile. I have it out to a few other agents, so maybe I’ll hear from one of them. Right now I’m just waiting. “I can hold my breath for a looong time!” (Bonus points if you know where that is from. Deductions if you have to look it up.)

                This is the time of year when I have trouble writing. There is so much to do. I just finished putting my garden in, Now it’s been raining constantly, so the weeds are out there growing and I can’t do anything but watch from the sidelines. The fish are biting and I just got a new pair of waders so I supposed I will be forced to go out and try to catch some walleyes. I still write when I can, but it’s not nearly as much I should.  I have the story in my head. It’s putting it into the word processor that is tough.     I will be participating in a round-robin blog starting in June. Several bloggers will write about the same subject and then link to another blog which will link to another blog… I’m not sure the people who set this up are aware of how absurd my blog can be, but they will be. The first subject is story genres. Stay tuned.

THE WRITING DEPUTY WEBSITE

IN THE STICKS WEBSITE

Read an excerpt from my second novel GRAVES OF HIS PERSONAL LIKING

About thewritingdeputy

Joel Jurrens was a deputy sheriff for 26 years until he retired in 2013. He has published three novels: In The Sticks, Graves of His Personal Liking and County Ops: The Vengeance of Gable Fitzgerald. He tries to keep his blog light and humorous and sometimes downright silly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

