AARDVARKS AND RUTABAGAS

aardvark

I have seen the cover to my book Graves of His Personal Liking. In fact, I have a jpeg of it on my computer. It hasn’t been approved by the senior editor yet, so I’m not going to put it on the blog until I’m certain it will be the cover on the book. The senior editor might want to change it and add an aardvark or something. Most people underestimate the marketing power of aardvarks. Usually they’re first when anything is put in alphabetical order. That has to be worth at least ten or twenty marketing points right there. Rutabagas have great marketing power, too, but that’s another story. Anyway I will post the cover as soon as it’s approved.

                Right now we are in the process of editing the manuscript for the book. The first edit went smoothly. A few missing punctuations, a few missed letters and misspelled words, (spellcheck doesn’t always work) two explanations for the editor and two recommendations for a different sentence structure. All in all pretty good. It took me about an hour to make the corrections. The editor said it was a GREAT story. I would expect no less from an editor. If he had said he drank a pot of coffee and still fell asleep three times while editing it, I would be worried. Of course it brings up the question: Am I a great storyteller. It is a trick question I can’t answer. If I say “Yes, I am a great storyteller,” everyone will think I’m a conceited slob. If I say “No, I’m not a great storyteller,” I’d be a liar.

                Now we are into the second edit where I go through line by line to see if I made any mistakes and to make sure every sentence says what I want it to say. It has been awhile since I wrote or read the book. I still like the story, but it is amazing the little mistakes that I missed when I wrote it and went over and over rewriting it.  I’m talking simple little mistakes like transposing letters and forgetting to put quotation marks at the beginning and end of dialogue. When my wife read the manuscript she made a list of any little mistakes she found. She missed them. When the editor did the first edit, he missed them, too. I shared on Facebook an article about how the mind reads words. As long as the first and last letters are in order the other letters fall into place regardless of the order. I’m a believer.

                I wrote my first three books on a folding card table. For Father’s Day I was given a new desk. I’m writing my fourth book, which is a sequel to my first book, on it. I hope it holds the same magic of the card table. Now excuse me while I go try to find a way to work an aardvark and rutabagas into my fourth novel.

Read an excerpt from IN THE STICKS

 

About thewritingdeputy

Joel Jurrens was a deputy sheriff for 26 years until he retired in 2013. He has published three novels: In The Sticks, Graves of His Personal Liking and County Ops: The Vengeance of Gable Fitzgerald. He tries to keep his blog light and humorous and sometimes downright silly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

