WEBSITES, BLOGS AND FOOTBALL

th

 

I currently have two websites and a blog. I’m going to shut down the websites and keep the blog. One of the websites I posted excerpts from my books and the other website was a sort of catchall for everything else. You know about the blog if you’re reading this. I found myself using the other two websites less and less. I didn’t maintain them or update them which is a big no-no for websites. I kept getting visitors to them, which surprised me since I haven’t advertised them for more than six months. I’m thinking about maybe later combining the two in a new website. I’ll still hang onto the blog.

I thought about maybe doing a website on political things, because heaven knows we don’t have near enough of those. Or maybe I could do one on football. I’ve kind of been up and down on professional football throughout my life. Back in the seventies I was a huge fan of the Oakland Raiders. That was back when half the rules in the NFL were made because of something the Raiders had done. Back then Ken Stabler was the quarterback and he went over the game plan Saturday night with a pitcher of beer by the light of a jukebox. Rumor was the Raiders had one assistant coach on the team whose job it was to call all the jails in the area on Sunday mornings to see if any of their players were in jail so they could bail them out for the game.

I got away from pro football for a while. I watched the Iowa Hawkeyes, but that was about it. I didn’t play high school football. I realized early I wasn’t going to be six-five and have hair growing out of the palms of my hands, so I couldn’t play the line. As far as the skill positions I’d have to agree with Robin Williams when he said, “I was a triple threat: small, slow and white.”

A few years ago I started watching pro football again. Now that I’m getting back into it everyone is worried that it is too violent and concussions are causing permanent brain damage. As I said I never played high school football, but I played a lot of backyard football without pads or helmets. We ran into each other all the time. I’ve been hit in the head numerous times. Once, Otto Bachman and I ran headfirst into each other at full speed. It knocked both of us out. While we lay unconscious on the ground, our team mates stood over us with great concern and worry laughing hysterically until they couldn’t stand up. For the next few months, Otto would suddenly start quaking like a duck for no apparent reason, but other than that I don’t think there was any permanent damage. It certainly didn’t affect me. I’ve been hit in the head numerous times. I remember once when Otto Bachman and I ran headfirst into each other at full speed. It knocked us out, but there was no permanent damage.

Actually I think I have a solution to the violence and helmet-to-helmet hits. If they just made a rule that said the tackler has to grasp the runner and can’t just run into him, it would end a lot of the bad hits. It’s hard to target someone with your arms extended, and it would look like the players are giving each other big hugs, which sounds very non-violent.

Sports announcer: Did you see the big hug Johnson just put on that guy?
Color commentator: Yes Don. Johnson leads the team in hugs. He’s averaging five hugs per game.

It just doesn’t sound so violent.

I will keep everyone updated on what I do about my website. If you want to go to my old websites you can’t, even if I had given you the addresses. Feel free to pass my idea about the hugs around. It might help, although I’m still not convinced about the permanent brain damage. I’ve been hit in the head numerous times. I remember once when Otto Bachman and I ran headfirst into each other at full speed…

 

COVER6 - Copy (3)        gohpl      sticks

About thewritingdeputy

Joel Jurrens was a deputy sheriff for 26 years until he retired in 2013. He has published three novels: In The Sticks, Graves of His Personal Liking and County Ops: The Vengeance of Gable Fitzgerald. He tries to keep his blog light and humorous and sometimes downright silly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

