TAKING A BREAK

man_in_hammock

I made a vow a while ago to write something every week on this blog. Recently the hits have gone down drastically. I figure with summer approaching people have better things to do than read a blog that seems to wander aimlessly with no apparent reason or purpose. It is also possible that after reading a few posts, people are afraid of catching whatever it is I have and have decided to keep their distance. Anyway I am not going to post on any certain schedule for a while. It doesn’t mean I won’t post once a week, but it doesn’t mean I will either. Whenever the mood strikes me I’ll write something without any due date or regularity.
Since this will be my last post for a while, I’ll do a little promotion for my books.

sticks

In The Sticks was my first novel and was published by Wings Epress. It’s a good mystery with many twists and turns and a lot of conflict between characters—I’m big on conflict between characters. The murderer changed three times while I was writing it, and the suspects changed constantly. It’s a well-constructed mystery with a surprise ending that I wrote when the novel was about halfway finished. The characters are all flawed. Most of my characters are flawed in my books. In real-life nobody is perfectly good or perfectly bad and everyone has those little flaws that make them unique. Perfect characters never ring true and tend to bore me, and once you reach that perfection level, people want to nail you to a cross. The two biggest comments I’ve gotten about the book are: it’s fast-paced and there’s more humor in it than you normally find in a mystery. I like to have something big happen in every chapter in at least one of the subplots. That always keeps things moving and makes the reader want to read more. The humor comes from the back and forth between the characters. You’ll find a lot of smart-alecks in my novels. I guess it’s because there is one buried in me. Wings Epress recently reduced the price of In The Sticks. The price was the biggest problem I had with that company, which is why I didn’t offer my second or third novel to them. I’m currently working on a sequel to Sticks, and since they have come down in price, I may offer it to them.

gohpl

Graves of His Personal Liking is my second novel. It was published by Whiskey Creek Press last November. I wrote it at the same time I was writing the rough draft of In The Sticks. It’s a western and was probably the most fun to write of the three novels—not the best, just the most fun. The love interests of Ben Cone play a big part in the story, but I wouldn’t call it a romance novel. It was nice while writing it not to have to worry about every detail being perfectly aligned like you do when writing a mystery. If I wanted to change the direction of the story, I didn’t have to go back and change everything that happened previously to make sure all the clues and back story fit into who the new murderer was; I envy non-mystery writers for that. Again the characters are flawed and John Wayne could not have played any of the parts–if he was still alive…and they made a movie out of the book.

NEW 1

County Ops: The Vengeance of Gable Fitzgerald is my most recent novel. I had two literary agents express interest in it. They both finally passed on it. I never tried to get a publisher for it. I wanted to self-publish so I could use it as a promotional tool by reducing the price and drumming up some interest in my writing. It is not a true mystery—more of a whydunit than a whodunit. I call it a thriller but there are just a few tense moments. I like the relationship between the DCI agent and Gable Fitzgerald and the way their relationship changes. My wife didn’t like the way it ended when she read the first draft. I thought about changing it, but decided not to. I couldn’t think of another way to make the story end that I found acceptable. County Ops: The Vengeance of Gable Fitzgerald will be on sale for 99 cents starting Friday May 30 and continuing until June 5. If you haven’t read it yet, this would be the time.

About thewritingdeputy

Joel Jurrens was a deputy sheriff for 26 years until he retired in 2013. He has published three novels: In The Sticks, Graves of His Personal Liking and County Ops: The Vengeance of Gable Fitzgerald. He tries to keep his blog light and humorous and sometimes downright silly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TAKING A BREAK

  1. I hope you don’t stop writing your blog because it’s one of the few I look forward to reading, though I don’t often post a reply. I have read County Ops and Graves of His Personal Liking and have left reviews on Amazon. I have bought In the Sticks and will read it soon. (I pick up my granddaughter at school every day and I read while I’m waiting for her to come out.) As I’ve also been published by Wings under my name Lynette Hall Hampton and with Whiskey Creek under the name Agnes Alexander I try to read their books. Thanks for the chuckles your blog has given me.

Leave a Reply

