MY FIFTH NOVEL

 

 

I haven’t been online for a while. I had a virus or got hacked, and my computer had problems, too. People kept telling me they were getting friend requests from me. I don’t send out friend requests anymore. I did at one time, but I always felt bad if they didn’t accept, and if they did accept, I always wondered what was wrong with them to want to be friends with someone like me. So if you got a friend request from me, it probably wasn’t from me, and even if it was, would you really want to accept it?

I didn’t want to go online, post something and possibly spread the virus around, so I didn’t post anything major. I’ve changed my passwords now, ran a couple virus scans, said a couple magic incantations, did the Hokey Pokey and posted a couple Dead or Alive poster for hackers. I think I’m safe.

My new book The Almond People is out from Wings Epress. Richard Stroud again did the cover. It’s at the top of this page. It’s a light horror novel. I call it that because the paperback only weighs about a pound. I’ll leave the heavy horror to early Stephen King—I got a hernia lugging The Stand around. Seriously, my new book is good and not that scary. I’m probably the only one who will wet his pants reading it, and that had more to do with old age than the book. There are a lot of thrilling parts in it, and maybe some blood, but it’s not a slasher book for those of you who are worried.

It’s set in the sixties, my teenage years—or as my grandkids like to call it, the Stone Age. It was nice going back and reliving those years: The Space Race, The Cold War, the Vietnam War, civil rights demonstrations, cruising Central Avenue, acne, not being able to get a date …

I’ve said before that I used a lot of lore from my area of Iowa in it and of course there is always the surprise ending. I hope you enjoy it, and if you do, write a review. My last book, In The Lake had three or four reviews on Amazon at one time, and for some reason they disappeared. I’m not sure what happened—I’m pretty sure I paid everybody. But seriously, if someone writes a review for this book and it doesn’t show up, let me know. Reviews are the life blood for authors.

On a quick side note, I signed up for Blogarama. It’s a sight that lists different blogs. Even though I haven’t posted for a while, I still get numerous hits from it. All of you bloggers might want to check it out.  Of course I once got a ton of hits from an RV site because someone had posted a link to one of my blog posts, but you might want to check it out anyway. And read my book. Click on the link below and check it out on Amazon in paperback or for Kindle. It’s also available at Barnes and Noble and most other places that sell ebooks.

 

 

 

 

 

About thewritingdeputy

Joel Jurrens was a deputy sheriff for 26 years until he retired in 2013. He has published three novels: In The Sticks, Graves of His Personal Liking and County Ops: The Vengeance of Gable Fitzgerald. He tries to keep his blog light and humorous and sometimes downright silly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MY FIFTH NOVEL

  1. Gerri Bowen says:

    I look forward to reading this, Joel. 🙂

Leave a Reply

